Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Physical Therapy Journals
The MCC Library provides access to many allied health journals through the library databases. In order to search for a specific title or to search for physical therapy journals, access the Journals List.
Physical Therapy titles include:
- Physical Therapy (2000 - present) in Academic Search Complete and CINAHL
- PT in Motion (2009 - Present) in Academic Search Complete and CINAHL
- British Medical Journal (1981 - Present) in Proquest
- Clinical Rehabilitation (1998 - Present) in Academic Search Complete
- Journal of the American Geriatrics Society (2001 - 1 year ago) in Acadmic Search Complete
Brainstorming for Keywords
Creating Search Statements
Starting Point -- CINAHL and Health Source Nursing
The search box below will search the CINAHL and HealthSource/Nursing databases. When searching in our databases, make sure to combine your key terms with Boolean AND (to include all the terms) or Boolean OR (for related terms). Check out the video offerings on this page for a quick tutorial on Boolean operators, database searching and reading scientific articles.
Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)
Database Search Tips
Searching in the databases can be tricky, especially since they are all slightly different. Here are some basic tips to get you started:
- Use keywords instead of phrases. Try searching for "nurse AND education" instead of "how much school do I need to be a nurse?"
- Not every article you find in the databases will be complete. Some will only be a citation or a summary. Limit your results to "Full Text" to see only articles that allow you to read the full text.
- When given the option, use other limiters to further refine results, such as by date and scholarly peer-reviewed articles.
- Look for an option to create a citation for the article right in the database. This can be a quick and easy way to create your Works Cited or References page. Always double check that the citation is correct. For example, sometimes the title will be in all uppercase. You might need to manually correct these editorial issues.
- Remember that the databases aren't right for everything! If you're looking for general information there are other sources that may work better such as encyclopedias, handbooks, or trusted websites. If you have questions about the right kinds sources for your research, ask a Librarian!
Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)
Entering Keywords into a Database (video 4:41)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Gale Onefile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more. This collection is primarily full-text.
ICE Video Library
A collection of 185 short patient videos for OTA and PTA students as well as Strokehelp videos
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL Complete contains full-text for more than 1,200 journals in over 50 nursing and allied health specialties.
Health Source Nursing/Academic (EBSCO)
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
Multi-disciplinary full text database
Definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology
Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948
Other Useful Research Guides