Skip to main content

English Research Guide: Home

A research guide covering all composition, literature and mythology courses.

Off-Campus Access to Databases

To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.

Instruction Modules for Online Sections

ENG 152 Information Literacy Objectives

INFORMATION LITERACY is one of MCC's four general education goals. Information Literacy is the ability to recognize when information is needed and to locate, evaluate and use information effectively. In this course, you will learn how to:

1. Select appropriate search tools to identify and locate information sources.

2. Construct effective database searches.

These skills will help you find quality, appropriate resources for your research assignments.

Start Here!

Welcome! This guide has been created to direct English students to quality, appropriate resources for their papers. Below are some of the most useful features of this guide.

The box above tells you how to access databases from off campus. The databases are a great source for scholarly, peer reviewed articles.

You will find some additional Guides in the Specific Assignments box on the left to direct you to sources for some specific English assignments, such as Community & Local Research and Greek & Roman Mythology. 

Finding Books & Media at the top contains access to the Library Catalog which lists books and media in the MCC Library.  Also on this tab you will find databases that contain full-text reference books on many subjects.

Finding Articles & More directs you to databases that contain articles in journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.

Evaluating Sources directs you to our Source Evaluation Rubric (SCARAB Rubric) which will help you select quality, appropriate sources suitable for use in a college-level research paper. 

Citing Sources provides sample citations for both MLA and APA citation styles.

Need help?  To the right you will find contact information to get help from a librarian. 

MCC Library

MCC Library Homepage

Questions? To contact an MCC Librarian, click on

Ask a Librarian!

Phone: 815-455-8762

 

Fall 2019 Hours

August 19 - December 13

Monday through Thursday:  8:00am to 8:30pm

Friday:  8:00am to 4:30pm

Closed September 2 for Labor Day

October 15 for Professional Development Day

& November 27-29 for Thanksgiving

Ask a Librarian