Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
The databases on this page contain primarily articles from periodicals (although some databases contain other information formats as well). Types of peridicals include:
Journal Articles: Contain research being done on a topic (probably the best source but sometimes too technical for beginning anthropology students)
Magazine & Newspaper Articles: Often cover for the general public the research that was presented in the journals (info is not as high quality as journals, but can help beginning students understand the journal articles)
For material in books (physical and electronic), click on the Books tab above.
Databases of electronic reference books are listed under the Books tab above.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Large database containing many full-text articles from journals, magazines and newspapers on all types of anthropology and other topics.
Business Source Elite
Articles from business publications; includes applications of anthropology in the business field
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
Journal articles on medical topics, including medical anthropology.
Health Source Nursing/Academic (EBSCO)
Medical journals - includes coverage of medical anthropology
Scholarly journal articles, particularly strong in cultural anthropology & archaeology
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)
Periodicals and government documents on many topics, including anthropology
Articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources - main focus is controversial issues
Large general database with articles from journals, magazines and newspapers on many topics, including anthropology
Gale in Context: Science
Articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources on scientific topics, including physical anthropology
Major education database; includes applications of anthropology in the field of education
Research Tip: Free Web vs. Fee Web
The Free Web is made up of web pages you can find using Google and other free web search engines. Some assignments do not allow free web resources. Good material may be found here, but you might also find a lot of popular resources that are inappropriate for academic writing. Refer to our SCARAB for help in evaluating your sources.
The Fee Web (also known as the Hidden, Invisible, or Deep Web) includes subscription databases. You can limit your results to full text and scholarly, peer-reviewed articles that are often required.
Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)