Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Genealogical Databases
FamilySearch is a nonprofit family history organization dedicated to connecting families across generations.
Family Search "How to" WIKI
Not sure where or how to get started? Click on the link to access the How To WIKI created by Family Search.
Contains thousands of links to Internet-based genealogy resources, organized by regional and subject categories.
Portal to free web-based United States genealogical sources, organized by state.
The State of Illinois Genealogical Links
Religious Affiliation Resources
The Catholic Heritage Archive
FindMyPast (previously DC Thomson Family History) is a British-owned world leader in online genealogy. It has an unrivaled record of online innovation in the field of family history and 18 million registered users across its family of online brands, which includes FindMyPast, Genes Reunited, The British Newspaper Archive amongst others.
Federal Genealogical Links
1940 US Census
The 1940 census records were released by the US National Archives April 2, 2012, and brought online through a partnership with Archives.com. This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions.
Angel Island (San Francisco)
Angel Island Immigration Station Foundation (AIISF) raises awareness of the experience of Immigration into America through the Pacific. AIISF collects and preserves the rich stories and personal journeys of thousands of immigrants, and shares them with visitors and everyone living in America through education initiatives and public programs. Angel Island Immigration Station reminds us of the complicated history of immigration in America. It serves as a symbol of our willingness to learn from our past to ensure that our nation keeps its promise of liberty and freedom.
Bureau of Land Management General Land Office Records
Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States, including image access to more than five million Federal land title records issued between 1788 and the present. The also has images of survey plats and field notes, land status records, and control document index records
CDC—Where to Write for Vital Records
CDC provides a comprehensive list of where to access vital records for U.S. States and Territories
Ellis Island registry (NYC)
The mission of the Foundation is to restore and preserve the Statue of Liberty National Monument, which includes, in addition to the Statue itself, Ellis Island and its Museum of Immigration; Custody and control of records, relics and other things of historic interest related to the Statue of Liberty and the millions of immigrants who entered the United States via Ellis Island; To foster, promote and stimulate public knowledge of and interest in the history of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.
Find A Grave
Find A Grave is the best place on the internet to look for burial and other final disposition information for your family, friends and famous people. The site provides tools that let people from all over the world work together, share information and build an online, virtual cemetery experience.
US National Archives
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever.
Immigration records are not available online. This site provides information on how to access immigration records on microfilm.
National Archives--Resources for Genealogists
Learn how you can use the resources at the National Archives to explore your family's ancestry.