Genealogy Resources: National Origin Resources

The Diversity Studies Collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. Provides partial full-text access to scholarly articles, magazine articles, and more.

Alexander Street Anthropology brings together a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.

Access news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Includes 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages.

World History in Video is a wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century

The National Archives (NARA) maintains historically significant and permanently valuable records created by the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) and its predecessor agencies from as early as 1793. Tasked with federal oversight of American Indians, the BIA interacted with many individuals and families.

Prior to 1900, few Indians are included in the decennial federal census. Indians are not identified in the 1790-1840 censuses. In 1860, Indians living in the general population are identified for the first time. Nearly all of the 1890 census schedules were destroyed as a result of the fire at the Department of Commerce in 1921.

The Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the African American experience, and highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.

The index includes the names of all persons applying for compensation arising from the judgment of the United States Court of Claims on May 28, 1906, for the Eastern Cherokee tribe. While numerous individuals applied, not all the claims were allowed. The information included on the index is the application number, the name of the applicant, and the State or Territory in which the individual resided at the time the application was filed. To order copies of these applications, you must submit a completed NATF Form 83 which includes the individual's name and application number. A separate form must be completed for each file you wish copied. To obtain an NATF Forms 83 write the National Archives, NWCTB, Old Military and Civil Records (Form 83), Washington, D.C. 20408.