Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Reference sources, books, e-books : numerous sources in print and online
- Magazines, Newspapers, Journals: a small print collection of magazines that circulate for 1 week, with many more available full-text through our online databases.
- Calculators for students enrolled in certain math classes
- Some limited office supplies - staplers, scissors, hole-punch, pencil sharpeners, tape, paperclips
- Popular Reading
- Items with limited circulation in special demand for certain courses/projects
- Faculty may place items on reserve at the circulation desk
- Faculty are responsible for adhering to any copyright restrictions or obtaining permission for materials they place on reserve
- Textbooks: one room use only copy of many of the textbooks used for MCC courses. Check at the library circulation desk to see if we have a copy of the textbook(s) used for your course. If you have an extra copy of the textbook(s) used for your course, please consider putting it on reserve at the library circulation desk to be used by your students.
- Interlibrary Loan
- Materials not held in the MCC Library can be obtained through interlibrary loan. It takes 2 weeks on average to receive items. Requests may be placed at the circulation desk or in some cases through the MCC Library Catalog if you are logged in to your MCC Library account with your library card number and select all I-share libraries when searching.
- Research Guides
- MCC Librarian created guides for each subject area taught at MCC. The guides serve as a resource for finding materials such as books, online databases for articles, and websites in a particular subject matter. Feel free to recommend resources for the subject guide related to your courses by emailing the reference desk at email@example.com.
- Citation Guides
- Information Literacy Tutorial : a guided tour through the research process
- Online Databases : 100+ databases for searching journals, newspapers, magazines and books. Many include full-text information. These are available off-campus too if you sign in with your myMCC username and password. If you would like to learn more about the databases related to your courses and how to use them, please set up an appointment with a reference librarian by phone: (815) 455-8762 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Printers, Scanner, Copier - printing and scanning is free in the library. Our printers are black and white only. Copying is 10 cents a page and color copies are 25 cents a page.
- Quiet and Group Study Spaces : variety of seating and areas to meet all needs
- Computers - 60+ computers available, no reservations needed.
Support for Teaching and Learning
Check out these research guides the librarians have put together to help you and your students: