Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. If you need to reset your password, go to the myMCC login page and click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Using the Article Databases
Article Databases mostly contain articles from periodicals, including:
Journal Articles, which cover research and practice in a particular field or discipline. These articles are written by experts in the field and are a high quality source. Limit your search to just journal articles by checking the Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals option.
Magazine and Newspaper Articles, which are written more to the general public. They're not as high quality as journal articles and don't go through a rigorous peer review, but may still be appropriate depending on your topic. Use the Source Evaluation Rubric under the Evaluating Sources tab to evaluate these types of articles.
Good Starting Points
Try these databases for articles in periodicals and reference books on controversial societal topics.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Viewpoints on all sides of controversial issues
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text database
Getting Started in Opposing Viewpoints (video)
Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)