Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Good Starting Points
Try these databases for articles in periodicals and reference books on controversial societal topics.
Viewpoints on all sides of controversial issues
Compilation of articles and research material on topics in the news from 1923 to the present
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference
These book series are great for these types of topics.
Contemporary World Issues - Search the library catalog for "contemporary world issues" to find all of our holdings in this series. When searching in the catalog widget below change "keyword" to "series" and enter "contemporary world issues" to view the collection.
Current Controversies - Search library catalog with "current controversies" AND your topic
Taking Sides - Search library catalog with "taking sides" AND your topic
Opposing Viewpoints - Search library catalog with "opposing viewpoints" AND your topic
Of course, there may be print resources on your individual topic as well. Enter your search in the Library Catalog search box below:
Use the MCC Library Catalog to find out what physical and electronic resources the Library has available. Enter your search below to get started!
Suggested Books (print)
Taking Sides by
Call Number: JZ1318 .T35 2013 Stacks
Publication Date: 2013-10-03
One of many books in the TAKING SIDES series.
Factory Farming by
Call Number: SF 140.L58 F33 Stacks
Just one of a collection of books as part of the CURRENT CONTROVERSIES series
MCC Library Info
Questions? To contact an MCC Librarian, click on
Ask a Librarian!
Summer 2021 Hours
During Library Remodeling/Renovation
We are still available to serve and help you, but we have some temporary location changes for our services for the next few weeks.
Monday through Thursday
8:00am to 6:00pm
A-212I (around the corner)
- Information and Circulation Help
- Library Research and Reference Help
- PC Computer Lab and Small Print Jobs
E-108 (downstairs in Building E)
- PC and Mac Computer Lab
- Large and Small Print Jobs, Color Printing