Demographics is the study of populations, including statistical information about groups of people.
Below you will find websites and library resources that can provide demographic information about consumers.
AtoZacademics’ premier business and residential database has 65 million U.S. businesses & executives, and over 245 million residents, respectively. Detailed data on the business database includes: Industry Specifics, Employee Size, Sales Volume, Competitor Information, Executives Titles, Email Addresses, Historical Data, and more. Search the business database by Geography, Industry, Executives, Ownership, Business Size, Keywords, and several other important selects. Detailed data on the residential database includes: Name, Phone Numbers, Address, Length of Residency, Gender, Household Income, Home Market Value, Link to Neighbors and more. Search the residential database by Geography, Name, Phone Number, Household Information, Interests/Hobbies/Lifestyles, and several other selects. Other databases available include over 12 million Healthcare Professionals, Over 7 million real-time jobs, 2 million New Businesses, Over 12 million New Movers, 2 million New Homeowners and more. Any of the databases can be easily downloaded, printed, or emailed, in excel, csv or pdf formats. The download limit is 1000 records per search with no overall limit.Other databases available include over 12 million Healthcare Professionals, Over 7 million real-time jobs, 2 million New Businesses, Over 12 million New Movers, 2 million New Homeowners and more. Any of the databases can be easily downloaded, printed, or emailed, in excel, csv or pdf formats. The download limit is 1000 records per search with no overall limit.
Demo of MyBestSegments to locate demographic information by zip code
Proquest Statistical Abstract by The Statistical Abstract of the United States is published annually. The library has every edition since 1993 in the reference section and electronic versions of the Statistical Abstract are available from 1878-2012 through the Census Bureau.
The Statistical Abstract includes demographic information related to consumers, but also includes sections on business enterprise as well as various industries in the American economy.
American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has Money by 
American Generations: Who They Are and How They Live by 