It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SPA 151/152: Country Portfolio: Home
Resources for country/culture portfolio assignment
Be sure to look at Databases by Subject for recommendations of databases specific to your research subject.
Gale eBooksThis link opens in a new windowDatabase of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Gale in Context: Global IssuesThis link opens in a new windowAccess news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more. Includes 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages.
Gale OneFile: World HistoryThis link opens in a new windowThis resource offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. Full-text is available in most cases.
Gale in Context: World HistoryThis link opens in a new windowCombining outstanding primary and secondary historical sources with great multimedia, World History in Context reaches back nearly 5,000 years to chronicle the rise and fall of cultures and societies across all continents and eras. Rare primary sources combine with reliable references to put content into context for every learner.
World Scholar: Latin America and the CaribbeanThis link opens in a new windowWorld Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean provides access to primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more.
World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level, offering deep contextualization of the subjects under discussion
Tip: Search for the full-text eBook Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life in Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Searching the Library Catalog
You have access to many full text online resources through the Library catalog. Here's how to get started:
Go to the library's website and select Books & Media (on the left), then select MCC Library Catalog.
In the yellow banner at the top, click the iShare/CARLI link to access the new library catalog.
Select McHenry County College from the drop-down list of libraries, then click the Primo VE Search button.
In the search bar at the top, type Spanish Culture and press Enter.
On the results page, use the Tweak Your Results column on the right to limit your results. Under Availability, click Available Online.
The new list of results will be materials available online for you to search.
Helpful definitions for common information literacy terms
Locating General Country/Cultural Information
General information such as a map of the country, the name of the capital, the population, official languages, and the type of currency used can be found in the following sources (among other possible sources):
"The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities."