Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. You may find your myMCC login at www.mchenry.edu/myMCC. Click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Selecting and Using Keywords Video (3:50)
Quick Tips and Shortcuts for Database Searching (video 5:19)
Research Tip: Free Web vs. Fee Web
The Free Web is made up of web pages you can find using Google and other free web search engines. Some assignments do not allow free web resources. Good material may be found here, but you might also find a lot of popular resources that are inappropriate for academic writing. Refer to our SCARAB for help in evaluating your sources.
The Fee Web (also known as the Hidden, Invisible, or Deep Web) includes subscription databases. You can limit your results to full text and scholarly, peer-reviewed articles that are often required.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL Complete contains full-text for more than 1,200 journals in over 50 nursing and allied health specialties.
Health Source Nursing (EBSCO)
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
Comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948
Health Source Consumer (EBSCO)
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines
Health Reference Center Academic
Access nursing and allied health journals, consumer health magazines, newsletters, and more. Full-text is available in most cases.
General Databases (periodicals on many subjects, including medicine, business, ethics, etc.):