Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Access to Databases
To access any database in this Research Guide from off campus, you will need your myMCC login. If you need to reset your password, go to the myMCC login page and click on Password Reset/Find Username.
Primary and Secondary Sources
Examples of primary sources in psychology:
- Original research
- Experiment results
- Data sets
Examples of secondary sources in psychology:
- Reviews of the literature or literature reviews
- Critical interpretations of scholarly studies
- Journal articles that do not present new research
This research guide from the Arnold Berhnard Library at Quinnipiac University may also be helpful.
The Research Process
- Start with your research question or thesis statement.
- Identify key concepts.
- Identify keywords related to those concepts.
- Choose your search tools.
- Test your search.
- Revise/refine your search.
Exploring a Topic
When you're just starting your research and want to learn more about a topic or even narrow its focus, Opposing Viewpoints is a good place to start.
Use the Browse Issues tool to locate your topic. Each topic has a summary, which is a good place to locate keywords to further your research.
Starting Your Search
Once you have some specific keywords and a good idea of what kind of information you need, searching a psychology-specific database like PsycArticles is a good next step.
- Use specific keywords, not questions
- Use the database's limiters: full text, scholarly peer-reviewed limiters, and date range
- From the library website, click Academic Sources, then select A to Z Databases.
- From the alphabetical list, select PsycArticles.
- On the search page, before you enter keywords, click the checkboxes for Full Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
- Enter your keywords in the search boxes. Example: memory and serial position effect
- When you get your results, consider using the date ranger limiter if your instructor has date requirements for your sources.
- Click the title of the article to open the record. From there you can:
- View the abstract (which is a good source for more keywords when you revise your search!)
- Open the full text article (PDF or HTML)
- Save the article to your Google Drive
- Get the article's citation (Cite tool - be sure to choose the APA citation)
- Print, email, or copy the link to the article (Permalink tool)
What is Empirical Research?
Empirical research is based on observed and measured phenomena and derives knowledge from actual experience rather than from theory or belief.
Key characteristics of empirical research:
- Statement about the methodology being used
- Research questions to be answered
- Definition of the group or phenomena being studied
- Process used to study this group or phenomena, including any controls or instruments such as tests or surveys
Ask yourself, could I recreate this study and test these results? Remember, the abstract of the article should provide a description of the methodology.
MCC Library Info
Questions? To contact an MCC Librarian, click on
Ask a Librarian!
Regular Library Hours
Monday through Thursday,
8:00am to 6:00pm
8:00am to 4:30pm
Spring Break Library Hours (March 27 - 31)
Monday - Friday 8:00am to 4:30pm